Eclectic Collection Strategy

When I am not trolling my readers with promises of Aaron rookie cards, I am working on a eclectic collections of stars and favorites. In this collection, I have a list of names that fit various criteria (MVP winners, HOFers, 300 wins, etc.). I want only one card from each player, and each set can only be used once. The final thing is that none of the sets are regular Topps sets. Needless to say, the newer players which are the ones who played after 1981, are easier to find. With that in mind, I decided to look at which sets I am missing from the pre 1981 era. Thankfully I have a lot more sets to play with than I thought, including several Kelloggs (which I am a fan of), both Jell-O sets, the Red Man tobacco issues, and Kahns and Bazooka issues as well. I think the trick is to pick up the really obscure cards where I can (like 1954 Dan Dee potato chips), which would leave the tricky ones to sets like 1955 Bowman. On another note, does anyone know of a good place to buy the odd ball cards? Ebay is so blasted expensive and the selection is not what it used to be.

Leave a Reply

