500 Dollar Challenge

Someone on Facebook asked, “If you could have 500 dollars to spend on one card, what card would you pick?” My first thought was in football, a 1957 Topps Johnny Unitas rookie or a Sammy Baugh rookie. Then I remembered that the most expensive vintage card since WW2 is the 1965 Topps Joe Namath. I checked ebay for that card and the cheapest one is 800 dollars.

Is there a logical explanation as to why that one card is that expensive?

I know it is a HOF RC, but more than Johnny U? Sammy Baugh? Sid Luckman? Bart Starr?

I flat don’t get it.

So, my question to you, If you could have 500 dollars to spend on one card, what card would you pick?

 

2 Responses to “500 Dollar Challenge”

  1. commishbob Says:

    I’ve got the Unitas rookie otherwise that would be my choice. Given that, there are several Sandy Koufax ’55 rookies in very nice shape that can be had for under $500. I’d grab one of those. Second choice would be a vintage Gordie Howe, a ’54 i saw on eBay comes in at under $500.

    BTW, I have a couple of Joe Namath cards, I liked the guy despite what he did to my BALTIMORE Colts, but I wouldn’t trade my Unitas for three of his rookie cards….. unless I was guaranteed a buy for them so I could upgrade my JU rookie!

Leave a Reply

