All Time Indiana HS Pro Team

If all the players in pro football history were to go back to where they went to high school, what state would claim to have the best all pro team? Who would make the cut for your home team? This is the first part in a series that will try to answer the question. While Indiana may not be home to a lot of huge names, I feel that this is a team that could give even the strongest teams fits with their tenacity and discipline.

Here is the all time Indiana HS Pro Team, starting with defense.


DE Lamar Lundy

LA Rams 1957 – 1969


Lundy was a member of the LA Rams famed Fearsome Foursome and went to the Pro Bowl in 1959.


DE Chike Okeafor

SF 49ers ,Seattle Seahawks ,Arizona Cardinals 1999 2009

West LaFayette

Chike had 53 sacks as a professional and was known for his eccentric style.


DT Alex Karras

Detroit Lions 1958 1970

Emerson ( Gary)

Known as “the Mad Duck”, Karras was a three time all pro and team of the 60’s member. He went on to a distinguished acting career.


DT Jim Prestel

Cleveland Browns, Minnesota Vikings ,NY Giants ,Washington Redskins 1960 1967

Sacred Heart (Indianapolis)

Prestel was an original Minnesota Viking and played with them for their first five years.


OLB Kevin Hardy

Jacksonville Jaguars ,Dallas Cowboys, Cincinnati Bengals 1996 2004

William Henry Harrison (Evansville)

Hardy was an all Pro in 1999, leading AFC linebackers in sacks with 10.5.


OLB Gerald Irons

Oakland Raiders ,Cleveland Browns 1970 1979

Theodore Roosevelt (Gary)

Irons was picked as one of the 100 greatest Cleveland Browns of all time.


MLB Scott Studwell

Minnesota Vikings 1977 1990

William Henry Harrison (Evansville)

Studwell was a Pro Bowler in 1987 and 1988 and is considered one of the greatest Vikings players.


CB Rod Woodson

Pittsburgh Steelers ,SF 49ers, Baltimore Ravens, Oakland Raiders 1987 2003

R. Nelson Snider (Fort Wayne)

Woodson was an 11 time Pro Bowler and 6 time first team all pro. He was elected into the HOF in 2009.


CB Erich Barnes

Chicago Bears,NY Giants, Cleveland Browns 1958 1971

Elkhart Central

Barnes was a six time Pro Bowler and an all pro in 1961.


S Blaine Bishop

Houston Oilers/Tennessee Titans, Philadelphia Eagles 1993 2002

Indianapolis Cathedral

Bishop was a four time Pro Bowl selection and a three time first team All Pro and was considered the leader of their defense.



S Dave Duerson

Chicago Bears, NY Giants, Pheonix Cardinals 1983 1993

Muncie Northside

Duerson was a four time Pro Bowl selection and a two time Super Bowl winner with the 1985 Bears and the 1990 Giants.


And now with offense


QB Bob Griese

Miami Dolphins 1967 1980

Rex Mundi (Evansville)

Griese was an eight time Pro Bowler, a two time All Pro selection and won two Super Bowls with the Dolphins . He was elected to HOF in 1990.


RB Timmy Brown

Green Bay Packers, Philadelphia Eagles, Baltimore Colts

1959 1968

Indiana Soldiers/Sailors Children’s Home (Knightstown)

Brown was a three time All Pro and a member of the Eagles 75th anniversary team. He went on to successful acting career.


RB George Taliaferro

LA Dons, NY Yanks, Dallas Texans, Baltimore Colts, Philadelphia Eagles 1949 1955

Theodore Roosevelt (Gary)

Taliaferro was a three time Pro Bowler who was the first African American drafted by a NFL team.


WR Mark Clayton

Miami Dolphins, Green Bay Packers

1983 1993

Indianapolis Cathedral

Clayton was a five time Pro Bowl and three time All Pro selection. He finished his career with 84 touchdown receptions.


WR Paul Flatley

Minnesota Vikings, Atlanta Falcons 1963 1970


Flatley was a 1963 Rookie of the Year and a 1966 Pro Bowl selection.


TE Ken Dilger

Indianapolis Colts, Tampa Bay Buccaneers 1995 2004

Heritage Hills (Lincoln City)

Dilger went to the Pro Bowl in 2001 and finished his career with 24 touchdown receptions.


G Bob Kuechenberg

Miami Dolphins 1970 1983


Kuechenberg was a six time Pro Bowl selection and an All Pro in 1978.



G Brandon Moore

NY Jets 2003 2012

West Side (Gary)

Moore was a Pro Bowl selection in 2011.


T Jason Fabini

NY Jets, Dallas Cowboys, Washington Redskins 1998 2008

Bishop Dwenger (Fort Wayne)

Fabini was selected as a member of the Jets All Time Four Decade team in 2003.


T Jeremy Trueblood

Tampa Bay Buccaneers, Atlanta Falcons 2006 2013

Indianapolis Cathedral

Trueblood has started 94 games as a professional and helped the 2010 Bucs average 125.1 rushing yards per game.


C Nick Hardwick

San Diego Chargers 2004 2013

Lawrence North (Indianapolis)

Hardwick was selected to the Pro Bowl in 2006 and was selected to the Chargers 50th Anniversary team.


And finally, here is the special teams.


K Morten Andersen

New Orleans Saints, Atlanta Falcons, NY Giants, KC Chiefs, Minnesota Vikings 1982 2007

Ben Davis (Indianapolis)

Andersen was a seven time Pro Bowler, a three time All Pro selection, a member of the all 1980’s and 1990s teams  and is the NFL’s all time leading scorer.


P Brad Maynard

NY Giants, Chicago Bears, Cleveland Browns 1997 2011

Marlon-Adams (Sheridan)

Maynard was twice and NFL Champion (2000 Giants, 2006 Bears)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: